Volvo S40 Oil Type

Select Your Model Year...

Choose the appropriate model year for the Volvo S40 you are trying to find the oil type & capacity for from the list below.

Volvo S40

Volvo S40 Image

You can find 45 different trims for the Volvo S40 and their corresponding recommended oil type.

The years available stretch from 1995 through to 2012 and to view the oil type and capacity you just click to expand.

Replaced by the V40, the S40 was both a subcompact and compact executive vehicle that existed between 1995 and 2012.

Initially, Volvo was going to brand the car the S4 and the F4, but after it was discovered that Audi had reserved the ‘S4,’ instead of creating confusion, Volvo renamed it.

Designed by Peter Horbury, an English car designer who currently holds the position of Executive Vice Directory of Geely Auto. Horbury had previously worked for Ford as well as Volvo and was named motoring publication Autocar's designer of the year in 1998.

The s40 had a number of safety features peculiar to Volvo and a 4-cylinder engine which could be purchased in either a 1.9-liter turbodiesel or as a petrol variety of 1.6-liter, 1.8-liter and a 2-liter.

For the UK market, trim levels were S, XS, SE and CD with a limited ‘Xi’ which was strictly yellow with black low lights.

Second generations were sold over 8 years between 2004 and 2012, these newer models were built upon the Volvo P1 Platform and manufactured in Ghent, Belgium. Winning ‘World car of the year’ and ‘Canada’s car of the year’ shortly after the second generation release, an ad campaign was released entitled ‘The Mystery of Dalaro,’ and was an unusual short film shot in a documentary style.

Sharing the same mechanics as the Mazda 3 and the Ford Focus, the S40 underwent a facelift in 2007 which saw an improvement in the audio equipment, larger storage capacity and safety feature.

In racing, Volvo entered the S40 into the British Touring car Championship with Tom Walkinshaw leading the race. He went on to win the 1998 title with the car which secured entry into touring races in Australia, Sweden and Norway.